top of page

Preparations for Africa

It might sound cheesy, but I really feel like I am where I am meant to be. And in some strange way, my life up until this point has been preparation for this moment…and many more moments to come, I’m sure. Life here can be challenging, due in part to a lack of availability of resources, or at the very least resources I’m familiar with. I’ve had to be creative to find solutions to things I did without thinking, and I’m actually loving the challenge. Bluetack and pegs have been my friends since arriving, rigging up all sorts of things from mosquito nets to clothes lines to pictures.

I’ve also realized that God has been preparing me for this for many years. I’ve been reflecting on my life, and the random skills I’ve picked up along the way, and it’s crazy how many of them are perfect for now. I’m so grateful for the people along the way who have taught me and mentored me. Your investment in me is paying off. Thank-you.

My parents for homeschooling me. I don’t even know where to begin with this one except by saying that I wouldn’t be where I am today if I wasn’t homeschooled. Aside from the schooling and learning, it built in me good habits of time management, and independence as well as involving me in so many extracurricular activities. The sport skills, and love of the outdoors has been invaluable.

Mum, you taught me to cook and sew, both which have both been useful skills. I don’t always have access to familiar ingredients, but after all your health food years and weird combinations, trial and error, I’ve picked up a few skills that are helping me eat well here. I’ve been able to sew my own bags, cushions, curtains and repair clothes (all by hand). I knew there was a reasons for all the late nights before the Bendigo Show…

Dad, thanks for involving me in your hobbies and building. I’ve learned a lot about woodwork and building things, and as I stock up my home, it doesn’t faze me having to construct a clothes line, or cupboards or shelves. Your knowledge of cars is incredible, and although I don’t have a car here, it’s still been handy to know a few mechanical skills. I do have a bike though, and I’m grateful to you for the hours you spent showing me how different parts worked and how to change and adjust tires, gears and brakes.

Samantha...what more can I say but health and healthy eating? You have given me so many tips and life hacks and recipes that have been awesome here. I can make things if I can’t source them, and guess what?! I can still get apple cider vinegar for my hair, even when I can’t get decent conditioners. ;) You have always been available to chat and I know that I can fire random and sometimes ridiculous questions to you and you patiently answer them. Thank-you dear sister!

All my GB leaders and mentors. Girls’ Brigade has been such a huge part of my life and has been incredible training for now. I learned so many skills (cooking, cleaning, sport, camping, sewing, craft, gardening, and more), and the leadership training I did as a teenager and later helped run has been super useful here. Who knew that the ‘Plan of Actions’ some clever leader decided to implement years ago in Bendigo would be used on a regular basis here? That the leadership skills we learned in PLT are taught and then used in leadership training and teacher training here in Africa? More importantly, Iearned about God. I learned that I was valuable because I am a child of God. I learned that God is part of everything in life. He’s there in the cooking and cleaning as much as in the Bible study and worship. As I write Christ-centred curriculum for the college here, I realize that’s what GB has doing for years. I learned about serving through the example of my leaders. Thank-you.

Who would have known that learning German in primary school would have been useful here? 8 years of study and 2 months of living in Germany have been super beneficial. The discipline of learning another language is really helpful as I learn Bemba. Also, there are heaps of Germans and Swiss here in the town I am living and it’s nice to be able to speak to them in German. Finally, there are HEAPS of South Africans living here and working with me. Having a knowledge of German actually makes it possible to understand a bit of Afrikaans and Dutch, and makes it an easier language to pick up as well. Thanks mum for choosing to put us through German lessons!

Some random ones. My housemate Jo (UK) one day said that I could borrow a guitar that she had lying around. Sure, why not teach myself guitar? I taught myself play a little bit of guitar, but nothing super great. However, the time spent learning cord patterns and how to tune, and toughening up my fingers has made it a breeze to pick up the ukulele here. I’m playing in Church and at the base, and I find it a great way to relax. Thanks Jo! My brother Scott also taught me a lot about playing drums and rhythm and patterns, and playing the drums is quite a useful talent here in Africa…

About 4 months before I left Australia, I got it in my head that I wanted to be as fit and healthy as I could before I left. I knew that I would be coping with a lot of changes and wanted to be as physically strong and healthy as I could be. A shout out to my friend Danielle who encouraged me in this, went jogging / walking (her jogging and me walking), with me and checked in daily to see if I was following my exercise routine. Who knew that the muscles and fitness I built up over that time would see me through 600km of riding through the hills in Malawi and my twice-weekly bicycle trips into Kabwe town (20km round trip)? Thanks Danielle for sticking with me through my on-and-off training!

I couldn’t write a post like this and not mention my Bible study leaders Don and Carolyn. With their recommendation and encouragement, I attended Soul Tour – Living Wisdom mental health and counselling training run for Young Adults. I cannot say enough how great that training was and how useful it has been in preparation for being here. I love the Truth Coaches, and still use them when I start slipping back into the lies Satan tells. (Little plug, but if you even get the opportunity to attend Soul Tour or Living Wisdom, do it!) You both built in a love for studying God’s word and sharing that with other people, and finding a small group here was one of my top priorities. Don and Carolyn, thank-you!

It’s amazing how God uses so many things and people to prepare us. Even when I wasn’t specifically / intentionally preparing for life in Africa, God was working behind the scenes. It makes the timing of things make more sense. I was ready to go as soon as I finished university, but God told me to wait and get some experience. I went to the UK and have benefit

ted so much from my time there. After the two years there, I thought, “Now God, I’m ready.” But he said to go back to Melbourne. I couldn’t see it at the time, but he had a job lined up for me at Harvest Bible College that would be perfect preparation for my time in Africa. Not only did I get to hear some amazing teachings over the two years I was working there, but I got to chat and discuss and learn from some great Bible teachers. After two years back in Australia, I finally felt God saying it was time to go. Not that in any way I am fully prepared and I still have much to learn, but God will use / has been using my being on the field to continue to teach me.

I’ve only mentioned some of the many people who have been part of my preparation and to all those who I’ve not mentioned, a huge thank-you. To those who have prayed, encouraged, mentored, taught and supported me, you have been such an important part of my journey to this point. Thank-you for investing in me and showing me in so many different ways that I am loved and valued by God and that there is nothing better than wholeheartedly giving my life for God’s glory.

Reflecting on the Journey

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page