top of page

The changing colours of Zambia


I've been in Zambia for nearly 8 months now (I know, where has the time gone?!) During that time, I've seen three different seasons. I arrived in the wet season: warm, wet and super green. It was a lovely season. The grass and trees where such an amazing shade of green. The grass was long and the plants full. But that changed quickly as the winter season came. The temperature dropped, the winds picked up, and the grass dried out. Plants turned brown. The farmers burnt the fields to stop the mice and snakes and to keep the grass short. The air was constantly filled with smoke, and the fields turned black with the ash from the burned grass. It's not a pretty season, but I guess it's necessary. Summer has just hit and although it's beginning to get super hot (hitting 37C this week) it's a beautiful season. The flowers have come out! Red and orange flowers, bursts of purple on the trees. The grass is still brown, the fields still a bit black, but the flowers are nice. It doesn't feel as dead as when the grass first died.

Many are saying the rains will come early this year...maybe by the end of October. We'll see. I look forward to it. With the rains comes the green. Then again, I think I'm enjoying every season here. There's something to enjoy and appreciate in every season, and the changing colours of Zambia are special to watch.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page