top of page

Siblings Day

It was recently Sibling’s Day. I know this day has come around every year since I’ve had siblings, but this time when I saw it on the calendar, it really caused me to think about my siblings. Maybe the reason for it was that I was a tad homesick, but whatever the reason, siblings, you were on my mind.

I have to come right out and say it. I love my siblings. I can’t imagine a better group of brothers and sister to have. They say you can’t choose your family, but even if I could, I’d still choose these three.

When I was back in Australia at the end of the year we took some family pictures. It’s been a long time. I think I was 15 or so the last family pictures were took. I’m now 28…

We decided to do a few siblings ones, and here is one of my favourites:

As one we turned around as our dad took the photo. We are such goof balls. And I love it.

My older sister. Wow. She inspires me. She has one of the most generous hearts I know. Mother to four beautiful children, she raises them with grace, humour and a lot of common sense. She’s beautiful inside and out and I love her to bits. She is a great friend to me, an encourager and a supporter. I don’t know how many times I’ve sent messages to her at random times asking for help and advice, and she’s never too busy to help. She’s one of my best friends.

My older younger brother. He’s brave, talented and has a roll-your-eyes sense of humour (think dad jokes) that I can’t help smiling over. He’s going to be a dad soon and I think he will be a fantastic father. He’s so quick to help, and even though he’s younger than me, often I look to him like an older brother. He’s generous with his time and really is a great encouragement and support to me over here.

My younger younger brother. A kind heart, creative and talented, bit of a nerd (in a good way). Always indulges me when I want to go on brother-sister dates, and I love that we go to places like a trampoline or rock climbing centre on these ‘dates’! He’s honest and we have had some great chats. I always appreciate his willingness to let me bounce ideas off him and am so grateful for his encouragement and support to me while I’m in Africa.

All of my siblings trained in jobs that help people: nurse, policeman and kindergarten teacher. They all have such big hearts and really care for people.

I’m not sure if it was being home schooled that grew us closer together, or the fact that we share the same initials: S.A.M. (I mean, bonded for life over that one!) It possibly had something to do with the fact that we spent a lot of time together. After school and before school, we played, we created, we explored together.

I think I’m going to have to stop there because my computer screen is getting blurry. Must be a problem with the pixels or something…

SGang, if you are reading this. I love you all. Thanks for being awesome (even if at times annoying) brothers and sister. I am really thankful to God for putting you in my lives. You are all a blessing to me!

Happy Siblings Day!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page