top of page

Some thoughts from Malawi

I recently got back from a teacher training trip in Malawi. I honestly don't have the time to write all my thoughts down fr the whole month, but I thought I'd share two of my journal entries to give you a glimpse into my time in Malawi...

Day 1.

It's really beautiful here. I had forgotten about it since I was here in 2016. As we make the short drive from Ntaja to Chisopi, I see familiar landmarks. Yes, I've definitely been this way before.

We arrive in Chisopi and the first thing I notice is the school. That was not there when last I visited. It's huge. A full school. Familiar style. I can't wait to visit on Tuesday. Around the corner we come to our stop. For the next ten days the patch of dirt outside a small house will be our home. Well, the two tents we put up on the dirt will be our home.

This house is familiar. It's where the school used to be. One room. The veranda really. How far it's come!

I stop the car, and surrounding us are about 50 children. Yes, I've definitely seen this before. Whispered 'Azungu' floats around the group as I step out of the car. There are some smiles, but very few greetings. Lots of curiosity. They stay and watch us for the next 30 min then slowly disappear. Maybe they have figured out we'll be here for a while.

Our first task is to erect the tents. I instruct the teachers while demonstrating with my tent. When I pause to let them complete a step, I look around. The sun is slowly setting and I see again this is a beautiful place. Mount Mbweni is off to the right, trees to the left. It's... serene. Stunning. Simple.

Bucket shower, tea and bread for dinner and I'm ready for bed. Before I can go to sleep, I meet the family in the house: K, F, children V and T, and cousin D. The two youngest smile beautiful shy smiles at me before hiding their heads in their hands. Ah, I just want to pick them up and give them a hug!

One last stop before before I can sleep for the night. I'm not looking forward to it, but needs must. The squat toilet. I grab my tissue and a torch and head in. Maybe next time I should leave my torch behind. That way I won't see the large cockroaches covering the floor. And I have to squat down and get my rear end close to the floor...?

A bit of stamping and they are mostly gone. I do my business quickly and then I'm gone.

 

Day 3.

Sometimes I can't believe it. Internally I shake my head and smile. It is just so far from... well, everything familiar I grew up with. I mean, physically, it's far. I'm in a rural village in rural Malawi. There's not even phone reception here! I've been told that a mere 200 m from where our tents are is 'the wild'. I'm thinking lions and elephants, but I have a feeling they mean trees and no houses.

Emotionally and mentally I'm far away from most things I know. Again, I shake my head in mild disbelief as I realise I'm sitting on a concrete floor using my hand to eat rice and goat. There's no power, but the area is dimly lit by solar light. I'm wearing a wrap for a skirt and my feet aren't entirely clean despite having just bucket showered. I'm surrounded by people I've known for two days, but who I'm starting to call my friends even though we don't speak the same language and communication is hard.

In the background Celine Dion is belting out a song, "...I feel that I'm alive".

Celine, I agree. I feel like I'm alive. I'm happy. I feel like I'm right where I want to be.

Mt Mbweni


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page