top of page

Hiking the Lion's Head

What makes someone to climb a mountain?

I pondered this question as I climbed up a misty Lion’s Head early one Saturday morning.

As I thought about it, I indulged in some people watching. I saw many types of people:

  • The Hard Core Hikers

  • The Fitness Junkies

  • The Wannabee Fitness Junkies

  • The Tourists

  • The “My boyfriend likes this and I like my boyfriend” Couples

  • The Family Vacationers

  • The Bird Clubbers

  • The Over 60s Walking Clubbers

  • The Instagramers

  • The “I thought this would be a lot easier” Mumblers

  • The Jean Hikers

  • The Canvas Shoe Wearers

  • The Bucket List Tickers

  • The “Smoking a Hookah at the Top of A Mountain” Experience Chasers (Seriously…one guy had a hookah in the back of his back pack.)

  • The Students

Why was I climbing the mountain? What would a people watcher say about me?

If I was climbing for the view, I would be seriously disappointed as the only thing I could see from the top was fog. If I was climbing for the exercise, again, I would be disappointed. It was a nice steady climb, but not particularly strenuous.

I think I climbed it for the company. A friend was climbing and I decided to go along. I’m grateful for time spent with people that grow, challenge, encourage and support me. The older I get, the more I appreciate people rather than experiences. Experiences are not bad in themselves, but people and relationships are becoming more valuable to me.

(Doing things with friends makes it worthwhile, even if you can't see a view!)

(It's fun climbing with a friend! - Climbing Table Mountain, Cape Town)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page