top of page

Real African Woman

I was walking down a dirt road last weekend in one of the communities here. I had a chitengi wrapped around me as a skirt and I was admirably balancing a large container full of pots and pans on my head, lightly supported by one of my hands. As I dodged the many puddles that had formed by the recent downpour, I greeted and chatted to some local ladies in my growing Bemba vocabulary. One of them commented as she passed me, "You look like a real African woman!" I was so happy! Now, I know that I will always stand out as the muzungu (foreigner) wherever I go, but I've also noticed a subtle shift towards me. I've been visiting this and a neighbouring community about once a week, riding my bike in, to visit one of our teachers and the school here, and I think people are getting used to seeing me. My Bemba speaking is slowly improving, and more and more people are noticing and calling me Zambian. "Ah, you are a Zambian now" said one of the teachers to me after I managed to string together a full three sentences in Bemba. I've been here for one year now, and although I am still miles behind where I'd like to be, and I'll always be the 'white girl', it's a sign of respect the locals show me to call me Zambian. It is my goal this year to speak the language fluently and involve myself more in the local communities and Zambian culture. I want to invest in people, and share God's love with them and being able to speak the language confidently will help for sure.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page