top of page

Lettuce in the cracks

I was outside last week pulling weeds from the cracks between the pavers in my backyard when I noticed some strange plants. They were among the weeds, but didn't look like the typical weed found in paver cracks. As I looked closer I realised they were little lettuce plants! Around 50 of them!

How on earth did they get there?!

I was stumped for a few minutes, and then it hit me. Last year I had planted lettuce in my garden, and allowed them to go to seed. I had cut the seed heads off and hung them on my washing line to dry out. I had even planted some, but was disappointed when nothing grew. Now, 5 months later these little plants are pushing out of the soil. Here I was thinking that all my efforts had been wasted, and nothing was happening, but at the right time they have sprouted, even in the cracks, amongst weeds.

As I start to plan this year with my team, I am reminded that God's timing and plans are best. At times it can feel like there is very little fruit here, and as we look at all the different options and what teacher training should look like, I really want to be doing God's work, not my own work (Psalm 127:1-2 & 128:1-2). Please pray for me that as I work, I would really be seeking to do the Lord's work, and that at the right time, he will bring forward the fruit.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page